About Us

The Addison County Solid Waste Management District (ACSWMD) is a union municipal district that exists to cooperatively and comprehensively address the solid waste management interests of its 20 member towns. The purpose of the District is to promote waste reduction, maximize diversion of wastes through reuse, recycling and composting, and to provide for the disposal of remaining wastes.  The District Office is open for business every Monday through Friday from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm.  Please note that the District Transfer Station has different hours of operation than the business office (Station hours are shown to the right).

Programs & Services

The District Transfer Station on Rte. 7 in Middlebury is available for residents and businesses to dispose of or recycle bulky items and special wastes. The District also operates the Hazwaste Center at the Transfer Station, and promotes other composting, reuse, and educational programs.

Member Towns

The District’s 20 member towns are Addison, Bridport, Bristol, Cornwall, Ferrisburgh, Goshen, Leicester, Lincoln, Middlebury, Monkton, New Haven, Orwell, Panton, Ripton, Shoreham, Starksboro, Vergennes, Waltham, Weybridge, and Whiting.

Board of Supervisors

Each town designates a representative to be on our Board of Supervisors.  Click here for a list of our current Board Members.

District Staff

To reach staff by phone, dial 802-388-2333, then extensions listed below.

District Manager:  Teri Kuczynski (Ext. 224), teri@acswmd.org

Program Manager:  Donald Maglienti (Ext. 222), don@acswmd.org

Program Outreach Coordinator: Jessie-Ruth Corkins (Ext. 221), jessie@acswmd.org

Business Manager:  Patti Johnson (Ext. 231), businessmgr@acswmd.org

Transfer Station Supervisor:  Gary Hobbs (Ext. 229), gary@acswmd.org

Administrative Assistant:  Chantel Bolduc (Ext. 223), admin@acswmd.org

Waste Diversion Program Assistant / ECO AmeriCorps Member: Elizabeth Cultrara (Ext. 232), elizabeth@acswmd.org

Transfer Station Operators:  Richard Cota, Chad Kimball, Jake Vukas

Transfer Station Attendants:  Kim Kimler, Wes Kimball, Ricky Rheaume

Scalehouse Operator:  Shelly Edson

Public Participation

The District Board of Supervisors meets at 7 PM on the third Thursday of most months. Meetings are held at the Addison County Regional Planning Commission, 14 Seminary Street, in Middlebury. The public is invited to attend the District’s Board of Supervisor Meetings. There is a public comment period at the beginning of every meeting. District residents, haulers, customers and interested parties are welcome to bring their comments and concerns to the attention of the Board.  Click here for available meeting agendas and minutes.

You may also share any comments you have with the District Manager, Teri Kuczynski, or with your town’s representative.

Licensed Haulers

This list of licensed haulers is offered for informational purposes only and does not constitute a guarantee or endorsement by the District.

District Transfer Station Hours

M-F, 7:00 AM – 3:00 PM*
Sat, 8:00 AM – 1:00 PM

*(Note:  HazWaste Center closes at 2:00 PM during the week.  See HazWaste hours below.)

HazWaste Center Hours

Mon-Fri, 8:00 AM – 2:00 PM
Sat, 8:00 AM – 1 PM

Holiday Closings

The Transfer Station and HazWaste Center are closed on the following holidays:

New Year’s Day
Memorial Day
Independence Day
Labor Day
Thanksgiving Day
Christmas Day

Click here for Transfer Station Rate Schedule

Contact ACSWMD

Addison County Solid Waste Management District

1223 Route 7 South
Middlebury, VT 05753

802-388-2333 (phone)
802-388-0271 (fax)


ACSWMD Facebook Page


The District Transfer Station, HazWaste Center, and Office are on Route 7 about 2 miles south of town, located on the east side of the highway between the U.S. Forest Service and Breadloaf Construction.

View map